Fall 2019

Monday July 15 Registration for Fall session begins
Wednesday July 31 PhD Funding Declaration to be submitted to GDPHS.
Wednesday August 7 Begin to enroll in Fall session and full-year courses in ACORN (www.acorn.utoronto.ca).

Note:
Each department has its own enrolment dates for Fall and Winter courses; check dates with relevant graduate units.New students – please familiarize yourself with ACORN and update your personal information.
Friday August 23 Last date recommended for payment or deferral of tuition fees to meet the September 13, 2019 registration deadline.
Monday September 2 Labour Day (University closed)
Tuesday September 3 CHL5004H Introduction to Public Health Sciences (Master’s students) and CHL5005H Introduction to Public Health Research (PhD students) begin.
Week 1: Sept 3-Sept 6 (9:00 am-5:00 pm);
Fall term dates: please refer to 2019 Fall timetable.
Division/Program Specific Orientation, 12:15-2:00pm
Friday September 6 Final day to update ALL Personal Information in ACORN. All students must have a UTmail+ email address and valid mailing address in ACORN by this date.
Monday September 9 Final day to submit the Register Without Payment (Fee Deferral) form, for eligible Master’s students and PhD students outside of the funded cohort, to GDPHS.
Monday September 9 Fall session (September-December) classes begin
Wednesday September 11 Summer session grades available for viewing by students in ACORN
Friday September 13 Registration deadline (to pay or defer fees) for students registering in Fall session. Minimum required payment due (unpaid fees from previous session(s) + 100% of current Fall tuition fee charges). After this date a late registration fee will be assessed.
Monday September 16 Last date to submit final doctoral thesis to SGS to avoid fee charges for 2019-20
Wednesday September 18 Deadline to submit a request for a Fall session Directed Reading course request to GDPHS
Monday September 23 Final date to request Fall session and Full-Year courses in ACORN
Friday September 27 Final date to submit final doctoral thesis to SGS for Fall convocation
Monday September 30 Remaining Fall session fees due by this date to avoid incurring service charges
Friday October 11 Deadline for PhD students to submit annual Activity Report
Monday October 14 Thanksgiving Day (University closed)
Monday October 28 Final date to drop Fall session courses without academic penalty
November TBA Fall 2019 Convocation ceremonies will be held.  Dates for specific degrees to be confirmed at www.convocation.utoronto.ca
Monday November 4 Begin to enrol in Winter session (January-April) courses and/or practicum in ACORN
November 25 – 29 Last week of classes
Saturday November 30 Students registered in Fall-Winter: Remaining Winter session fees due by this date to avoid service charges, which begin accruing on December 15
December 2 – 6 Exam Week for  ‘CHL’ courses
December 23, 2019 – January 3, 2020 Winter break (University closed)

Winter 2020

Monday January 6 University of Toronto re-opens
Monday January 6 Winter session classes begin
Wednesday January 15 Final date to submit final doctoral theses to SGS to avoid Winter session fees
Wednesday January 15 Deadline to submit a request for a Winter session Directed Reading Course request to GDPHS
Wednesday January 15 Fall session grades available for viewing by students in ACORN
Monday January 20 Final date for registration (pay or defer fees) for students registering in January. Minimum required payment due (unpaid fees from previous session(s) + 100% of current Winter session tuition fees). After this date a late registration fee will be assessed
Monday January 20 Final date to request Winter session courses and/or practicum
Friday January 24 Last date to submit final doctoral thesis to SGS for March Convocation (in absentia)
Friday January 24 Final date for receipt of degree recommendations and submission of any required theses for March or June graduation for master’s students without fees being charged for the Winter session
Friday January 31 Students registered for Winter session only: Pay any remaining Winter session (January-April) fees to avoid service charges, which begin accruing on February 15
Monday February 17 Family Day (University closed)
February 17 – 21 February Break (no classes)
Monday February 24 Final date to drop full-year and Winter session courses in ACORN without academic penalty
March 30 April 3 Last week of classes for ‘CHL’ courses
Wednesday April 1 Begin to enrol in Summer session (May-August) courses and/or practicum
April 6 April 9 Examination Week for ‘CHL’ courses
Friday April 10 Good Friday (University closed)
Tuesday April 14 Grades due for students graduating in June. Students should alert instructors of this early deadline
Friday April 17 Last date to submit final doctoral thesis to SGS for June convocation
Thursday April 30 Payment deadline to avoid service charges on unpaid Fall/Winter session (September to April) tuition and non-tuition fee amounts for all students who have successfully registered without payment (deferred tuition fees) because they are receiving a full funding package and/or a major award or scholarship. Monthly service charges will incur starting May 15
Wednesday May 13 Winter session grades available for viewing by students in ACORN