Acknowledgement of Territory

We would like to acknowledge the traditional territories of the Mississauga of the New Credit First Nation, Anishnawbe, Wendat, Huron, and Haudenosaunee Indigenous Peoples on which the Dalla Lana School of Public Health now stands.

The territory was the subject of the Dish With One Spoon Wampum Belt Covenant, an agreement between the Iroquois Confederacy and Confederacy of the Ojibwe and allied nations to peaceably share and care for the resources around the Great Lakes. We would also like to pay our respects to all our ancestors and to our present Elders.

The Waakebiness-Bryce Institute for Indigenous Health believes partnerships are the key to parity in Indigenous and non-Indigenous health: partnerships with Indigenous peoples, leaders and organizations; with educational, public health and cultural institutions; and with all levels of government.

Through partnerships built on respect, inclusion and trust, together we are laying the foundation for a sustainable future of wellness in Indigenous peoples — one policy, one community and one person at a time.

Donate now to the Waakebiness-Bryce Institute for Indigenous Health Fund